Homepage » The Observatory » Who are we?

Who are we?

The “Observatory Europe-Afrique 2030” is an association independent from any commercial or non-commercial business or organization whatsoever. A team of experts contributes to its developments.

Christian Delavelle created the Observatory in 2016 . For eight years, he was cost-control engineer and then project engineer in two Oil & Gas engineering companies. Then, manager at the consulting department of Taylor Nelson Sofres Group, he conducted numerous strategic studies in sectors as mechanical equipment, steel making, textiles, energy, electronics, automotive, aerospace and green technologies. He worked in a dozen African countries on missions for the World Bank, the UNIDO and the European Commission. In 2003, he created AJI-Europe, company specializing in strategic consulting for “clean transportation”.

Jean-Raphaël Chaponnière, specialist of Asia-Africa relations.  Research engineer at CNRS, invited researcher at the Institute of South East Asian Studies (Singapour), at  Euro Asia Center (Insead), expert at National Economic and Social Development Board and administrator at UNIDO (Vienna). He was economic advisor at the french embassy in Korea and Turkey. He is member of Asie21-Futuribles.

Lionel Taccoen is enterprise adviser on energy issues and european affairs. He was regional vice-president for equipment, in charge of the construction of Paluel and Penly nuclear power plants, and then General Delegate for european affairs at EDF.  He is involved in the management of the Newsletter « Géopolitique de l’Electricité».

Jean-Claude Berthélemy is professor emeritus at the University of Paris 1 Panthéon Sorbonne and former director of the Sorbonne School of Economics. He initiated bilateral cooperation with different countries including China, Egypt and South Africa, and created at the Sorbonne the first master’s program in economics dedicated to attracting students foreigners in France, the Pantheon Sorbonne Msc. In Economics (PSME) which has already trained more than 500 economists from over 70 countries. He is a program director at FERDI, and a corresponding member of the Academy of Moral and Political Sciences. He was research director at the OECD Development Center and director of CEPII.